Dec12-2018, 17:46:32
TBCTAD : Wed 1746 UTC Dec12-2018

Proton

What Interests You?
« on: Jan22-2015, 18:16:34 »
I just finished my BS in Information Technology and will be returning to school sometime in the future, to pursue more things I am passionate about. I find the human body absolutely fascinating and I have a strong passion for technology. I was a nursing student for a while. I wanted to work in a trauma center, but my passion for technology overcame it. Over the past year or two, I have become very interested in bionics. I wanted to share one of my favorite TED talks.
https://www.ted.com/talks/hugh_herr_the_new_bionics_that_let_us_run_climb_and_dance#t-652261

So, what are you passionate about or really peaks your interest?

Offline Bull Eramix

• If a problem can't be solved enlarge it.Eisenhower
  • Division: Infantry
  • UTC Modifier: -4
Re: What Interests You?
« Reply #1 on: Jan22-2015, 18:27:28 »
I'm an all over Nerd who grew up on a farm, I have more useless knowledge up here than I care to admit.

Currently work in the garbage field, so I'm pretty up on sustainability etc.  Right from farming using horses to recycling and recovery.

Offline Benstruation

• Words
  • Division: Recruit Training
  • UTC Modifier: -5
« Reply #2 on: Jan23-2015, 11:38:52 »
Everything. I tend to have moments in which I'll obsess over a particular subject for a few weeks then move onto another then back to the previous then to another and another. Recently it's cognitive functions, artificial neural networks, quantum mechanics, procedural animation and John Singer Sargent. I kinda envy people with the ability to focus and not be interested in everything they read. That kind of selectivity with regards to attention would certainly be beneficial.

Bionics though does seem incredibly interesting. A lot of big news coming from it this last year.

Offline Waam

• UTC Modifier: -5
« Reply #3 on: Jan23-2015, 15:55:59 »
On the subject of bionics...